Dream 4: Part 1

by kuriouskaren

dream4_a

Tension & Fear

In the [beginning] of my dream, I find myself in a bleak schoolroom with four strangers – a middle aged asian woman, an older tall slender man, and a set of blonde twins (male and female) in their early twenties. All of us don’t know how or why we got to this space. After a brief discussion, we decide it’s best if we all went as a group to explore the old school. As we make our way down a corridor, an ominous figure in a black robe and kabuki mask appears. He doesn’t say anything, flips out a switchblade, and makes a dash for us. We all run in panic, but the figure in the black robe manages to cut the asian woman’s arm and corner her – I don’t find out what happens to her as I run away in a different direction.

Symbolism (from dreammoods.com):

School: To dream that you are in school signifies feelings of inadequacy and childhood insecurities that have never been resolved. It may relate to anxieties about your performance and abilities.

Alternatively, a dream that takes place in school may be a metaphor for the lessons that you are learning from your waking life.You may be going through a “spiritual learning” experience.

… Or perhaps there is a new lesson that you need to learn.

Murder: To dream that you witness a murder indicates deep-seated anger towards somebody. Consider how the victim represents aspects of yourself that you want to destroy or eliminate.

Knife: To see someone holding a knife in your dream suggests that you lack control or power in a situation or relationship. Alternatively, the person holding a knife in your dream may be symbolic of a dominant male figure in your waking life.

Analysis:

I think this dream reflects my need to constantly learn something useful. But I’ve recently become frustrated with books and school, since I know they can’t always teach me important life lessons. I feel I am missing out on learning vital life lessons by preoccupying my time instead with books. I need more real world experience.

