Dream 4: Part 2

by kuriouskaren

dream4_b

Fear & Anger

In the [middle] of my dream, I manage to get down to the second floor of the school and run into a young man. He looks like he is in his late twenties or early thirties. He tells me the tall slender man was caught by the man in the robed figure too, and that we should make a run for the basement, since he knows the way out. I feel like I have no choice but to trust this man, and we start sprinting. As we reach the main corridor’s staircase, we come across two figures in black robes and kabuki masks – except their masks are both different colours from the first robed figure I met. The two figures in black make a dash for us, and the young man and I split up into different directions. I make my way for the basement and am about to head out through a storm cellar that leads outside. I can see sunlight peaking through the doors’ cracks. As my arm reaches out to push the doors open, another figure in black takes a swipe at me with a switchblade, but I step back in time. He chases me around the basement, until I come across a baseball bat. I end up slugging his left leg, and he crouches down in agony. I make a dash for the storm cellar’s doors and jump through them. Luckily, I find a lock and chain on the handles and lock the cellar doors shut. At the [end] of my dream, I make my way towards the forest nearby the school and I feel someone tap my right shoulder. It’s the young man who told me the exit was in the basement. I turn to say “thank you” to him and feel relieved, but before I can say anything he points back towards the school. I feel confused for a second, look back, and see four figures in black robes in kabuki masks on the rooftop staring back at us. They wave at us and take off their masks. The robed figures turn out to be the strangers I initially met in the school room- the asian woman, tall slender man, and blonde twins. I turn back to the young man, and he just gives me a smug grin.

Symbolism (from dreammoods.com):

Mask: To see someone wearing a mask in your dream denotes that you are struggling against deceit, falsehood, and jealousy.

Running: To dream that you are running away from someone indicates an issue that you are trying to avoid. You are not taking or accepting responsibility for your actions. In particular, if you are running from an attacker or any danger, then it suggests that you are not facing and confronting your fears.

Exit: To see an exit in your dream indicates that you are looking for a way out of a waking situation.

Analysis:

This dream is telling me that I can’t run away from taking risks that accompany real life situations. Sometimes I do feel nervous about taking the initial plunge about getting to know new people in new settings, but I know I’ll be better off if I just take that risk. The safety and security that comes from learning things by yourself by a computer, book, institution, etc. comes with safety nets that are non-existent in real life situations. I have to be more aware of my lack of safety nets but still take plunges.

