Dream 7: Part 1

by kuriouskaren

Image

Nostalgia & Panic

In the [beginning] of my dream, I’m at my old high school in Ottawa. Lisgar. I’m sitting in a large empty hall with a few of my old classmates. We’re all waiting for bad news and there is tension in the air. A few moments later, after whispering and gossip, an old teacher of mine storms into the hall. He tells us that it’s worse than we thought, and now “the demons” have entered the school. As soon as he tells us the news, we start to hear loud screeching and he closes the large hallway doors and locks us in from the inside. Everything appears in mostly gray tones.

Symbolism (from dreammoods.com):

High school: To dream about high school refers to the bonds and friendships that you made while you were in high school. What spiritual lessons have you learned? The dream may also be telling you that you need to start preparing for the real world.

To dream that you have to repeat high school suggests that you are doubting your accomplishments and the goals that you have already completed. You feel that you may not be measuring up to the expectation of others. The dream may occur because some recent situation may have awakened old anxieties and insecurities.

Demons: To see demons in your dream indicates that you may be experiencing or inflicting fear, emotional distress or physical abuse in your waking life. Demons are also symbolic of ignorance, negative habits, and of your shadow self. Perhaps you are being overindulgent and letting some negativity give way to your better judgment. Alternatively, the demons may represent a past secret that is still haunting you.

Gray: Gray indicates fear, fright, depression, ill health, ambivalence and confusion. You may feel emotionally distant isolated, or detached.

Analysis: 

I think I am doubting the progress I’ve made in my professional life since high school. When I compare myself to other people since that time, I wonder if I am really on the road to accomplishing something. I did get jealous when I saw some of my friends just packing up and moving right after high school to Los Angeles and making a living for themselves there. I think the demons signify that I am feeling some emotional distress, since I haven’t really had the time to explore my options (as I feel that some of my friends have had the luxury of). Back then, I did feel pressured to go with the norm and set my life path just like others were doing (either in academia, healthcare, or business); I actually regret this decision and this fear is resurfacing in my working life. I’m not in the ideal position I want to be in, and know I have to work at what I want to do.

