Dream 7: Part 2

by kuriouskaren

dream-b

Emptiness & Salvation

In the [middle] of my dream, I start to get angry that we are trapped in a room with demons outside. I feel like we’re sitting ducks. The teacher won’t let me leave (out of his own fear) and all of the other students are too scared to think. Later, the door bursts open and one of the flying demons comes in. We all scatter off into different directions, and I dash off into a broom closet with a few other people. In the closet, I’m also stuck with my old teacher. He then panics and tells me that no one else outside the school knows that we are in trouble. I get even angrier at him for wanting to keep us locked in the school. I decide to make another dash for the tunnel that connects the main part of my school with its exterior gymnasium… I’m able to make it to the upper gym’s main office and kitchenette. There, I meet three other students. I’m very glad to see them and notice a basket of large strawberries in a corner. I tell them what I know and start rushing through why we have to leave. The other students don’t seem to care. They’re like ghosts and unresponsive. Drained from frustration, I grab a strawberry and take a bite– it’s completely hollow. I grab another and it’s hollow too. I start to realize that the real danger is not the demons, it’s the people. They’re hollow and dull like the strawberries. Suddenly I hear screeching again, and make a run for the outside and lock the doors from the exterior. At the [end], I’m walking in the fresh night air outside my school and pass Knox church on the street corner. It chimes, has its windows wide open, and I feel happier.

I wake up.

Symbolism (from dreammoods.com):

Security Bars: To see security bars on a window in your dream represents opportunities that are in your view but still out of your grasp. Alternatively, the dream symbolizes mistrust.

Prison: To dream that you are in prison indicates that you are being censored in some area of your life. You feel that your creativity is being limited and that you are not allowed to express yourself.

Strawberries: To see or eat strawberries in your dream signify your sensual desires and temptations. Strawberries are often associated with feminine qualities and female sexuality. Alternatively, to see strawberries in your dream indicate that your ideas and goals will soon be realized.

Emptiness: To dream of emptiness suggests that there is something missing or lacking in your life. It symbolizes fruitless labor, an emotional void, or loneliness. There is nothing to show for all the effort that you have dedicated to a project or relationship. In particular, to dream that a container is empty represents optimism.

Church: To see the outside of the church in your dream signifies sacredness and spiritual nourishment. It is representative of your value system and the things you hold sacred.

Analysis: 

I think looking back, I saw that school as a prison sometimes. The rigid curriculum didn’t give me much time to explore and the heads of authority aren’t always the brightest. The strawberries are empty in my dream, because  feminine qualities  like nurturing, loving, and supportive are not found in the school. It’s missing.  I think sometimes the effort you do put into school projects that are mandatory and chosen for you are usually pointless. And you have to follow the curriculum that is standard for everyone. Most secondary public schools do not allow flexibility for different learning styles and personalities. The church represents value systems and how fundamental that is to learning – freedom and learning things at individual paces is also important but mostly undervalued in formal education.  This dream inherently signifies my frustration with the educational system and how it fails in making people think for themselves. I really hate the idea of going for more masters degrees or a  PhD and wan to gain more experience on my own terms.

