Nightmare 1

by kuriouskaren

dream-a

Revulsion & Loss of Innocence

I had this sleeping experience after watching “Sex: The Annabel Chong Story.” In my nightmare, I’m in a traditional theatre with red curtains. I’m sitting in the audience with a few other people and watching men being forced to have intercourse with Annabel. The expressions on their faces reveal that they feel disgusted and scared. I can’t help but cringe at watching this experience. I wake up.

Symbolism (from dreammoods.com):

Sex: To see others having sex in your dream refers to your own desires of being more adventurous in your own sex life.

Disease: Alternatively, the disease in your dream may be symbolic of some fear or tension that you are experiencing in your waking life.

Theatre: To dream that you are in a theater signifies your social life. Consider how the performance parallels to situations in your waking life. Observe how the characters relate to you and how they may represent an aspect of yourself. You may be taking on a new role.

Analysis: 

This nightmare brought back many memories. I’ve always wanted a more adventurous life and so got involved with more adventurous friends when I was reaching my late teens. I’ve always wanted more freedom and when I was given the opportunity to explore I went with it.

My closest friends have always been women. But some of the women from my past were very sexually loose and did not think of the consequences of STDs or the potential physical/emotional abuse of their casual partners. I find that those women were actually very open people but just naive; they would get so caught up in the moment that they wouldn’t think of the consequences or were not fully aware of them in the first place. Annabel does remind me of someone I knew from my past and there are some jarring similarities between the two. It’s like looking at a carbon copy.

Some of the women who I’ve met did end up with STDs, but the sad part is they continued to live a wreckless lifestyle and engage in unsafe sexual practices even after the fact. The reason why I don’t keep in contact with them anymore is that even after I spent a lot of time consoling them after they found out they contracted an STD, they would continue to go out and have unsafe sex — and not tell their partners they had an STD. It still gets under my skin.

The disease represents my personal fears of getting involved in intimate relationships, and whether I can really trust someone. I’m very fortunate that I haven’t had permanent, damaging experiences like these women. And I’m very conscious of preserving that to the point of fear.

In my dream, I am an observer watching other people ruin themselves physically. I’ve always found it a bit disgusting that there is this trend of counting up the number of people you’ve been with, instead of focusing on the quality of the relationship you’ve had or the number of good experiences you’ve had with the same person. I think this dream is showing me that I’ve grown up a lot, since I don’t find anything attractive about the night scene and some of the evils attached to it anymore.

