Dream 9

by kuriouskaren

dream-a

Regret

In my dream, I’m running away from some criminals at night. I’ve stolen something from them and I’m trying to make my get away. They soon catch up to me and someone tackles me to the ground. My face gets pressed to the ground and I get hit over the head with something that I black out. I wake up on the dock of a boat and am tied up in chains. It looks like I’m in the middle of some ocean since I can’t see any land masses nearby. A few men come out and one of them turns to me and says “You shouldn’t have stolen from us. Bad idea. We need to set a precedent with you now.” After one of the men tell me that, the others pick me up and throw me over the edge of the boat.

It’s pitch black, dark, and I can’t see anything in the water. Just complete darkness. The water is extremely cold and I keep sinking down further. It scares me even more that I haven’t hit the bottom surface of anything and probably never will. I’ll just keep sinking down.

Symbolism (from dreammoods.com):

Stealing: To dream that you are stealing suggests that you are feeling deprived. The locale (at home, the office, at school, etc) of where the stealing takes place is indicative of your neediness. Alternatively, stealing signifies unrealized and unfulfilled goals. You may have set your goals too high.

Murder: To dream that you are murdered suggests that some important and significant relationship has been severed. You are trying to disconnect yourself from your emotions. The dream may also be about your unused talents.

Drowning: To dream that you are drowning indicates that you are feeling overwhelmed by emotions. Repressed issues may be coming back to haunt you. You may be proceeding too quickly in trying to discover your subconscious thoughts. You should proceed more cautiously and slowly. If you drown to death, then is refers to an emotional rebirth.

Analysis:
This dream is about my ability to tap into the feelings and motivations of others. I’ve been told I have this unique quality of getting people to reveal their most intimate sides to me. I’ve been denying this the past three to four years and am ignoring myself. I’ve refused to be objective with myself because I’m afraid what I will find out about myself. It’s a very scary thing to make yourself so honest with yourself and become vulnerable. I love this unique quality of myself, but I’ve been neglecting fully polishing them. This leaves me neglecting a fundamental side of myself. I’m drowning because I let it happen to myself. In my dream I’m not mad at the criminals for throwing me in the water. When I’m drowning I feel a lot of regret about some of the things I’ve never tried or fully developed. I blame myself and drown with this thought of hating myself.

