Dream 10

by kuriouskaren

Image

Isolation & Alienation

In the [beginning] of my dream, I’m living on a frozen lake in a house on stilts. Almost an entire community lives with me, since the house is really large. Like a mess hall. As time passes, I find out that the house occasionally falls down. During one of the times that we are propping the house back up, I meet a young man and start to develop a relationship with him. In the [middle] of my dream, we are skating on the rink together and he tells me his life story. He is basically one of those rare people who are extremely wise and smart, even though they grew up in a really smart town. As we are skating on the rink, sirens go off. We are called back into the large house. A speaker then tells us that all men between the ages of 18-25 with high aptitude scores are now automatically drafted into the war overseas in the Middle East. Hearing this, I become disappointed since I know the young man I just started to get to know is going to be forced to leave the country. The next week, we all see the drafted young men go in a public ceremony. At the [end] of my dream, I go to a nearby coffee shop and watch the news; there is a war story on. The barista at the coffee shop hands me a flower cupcake and tells me to cheer up. He smiles and walks back to the counter, where everyone in the shop is glued to the television.

Symbolism (from dreammoods.com):

Ice: To see ice in your dream suggests that you are lacking a flow of ideas and thoughts. You are not seeing any progress in your life. Alternatively, you may be feeling emotionally paralyzed or rigid. You need to better express your feelings and let others know how you are feeling. To dream that you are walking on ice indicates that you are standing on shaky or unstable ground. You need to proceed with caution in some matter or situation. Alternatively, the dream implies that you are taking risks that you shouldn’t be taking.

Stilts: To dream that you are walking on stilts indicate that you are feeling insecure. A situation or relationship is unstable. You are doing your best trying to balance various aspects of your life.

House: To see a house in your dream represents your own soul and self. Specific rooms in the house indicate a specific aspect of your psyche. If the house is shifting, then it suggests that you are going through some personal changes and changing your belief system.

Cupcakes: To see or eat a cupcake in your dream suggests that you are treating yourself to a little sweet reward. You feel that you are deserving of some sort of gift of prize. Alternatively, a cupcake represents your need to downsize some aspect of your life in order to make it more palatable or manageable. Take it a little bit at a time.

Flower: To see colorful flowers in your dream signify kindness, compassion, gentleness, pleasure, beauty, and gain. It is also symbolic of perfection and spirituality. Your dream may be an expression of love, joy and happiness.

Lover: To see a lover in your dream shows acceptance, self-worth, and acknowledgement of your true inner value. You are integrating aspects of the masculine and the feminine. As a result, you are feeling complete and whole. Alternatively, your dream lover may also be someone who is your ideal. The dream could be compensatory for an unsatisfactory or unfulfilling relationship in your real life.

War: To dream of a war signifies disorder and chaos in your waking life You are experiencing some internal conflict or emotional struggle which is tearing you up inside. Alternatively, the dream indicates that you are either being overly aggressive or that you are not being assertive enough. Perhaps you need to be prepared to put up a fight in some area of your life.

Soldier: To see or dream that you are a soldier signifies discipline, structure, rigidity and your staunch attitude. You are imposing your opinions and feelings on others. Alternatively, a soldier means that you are preparing yourself to do battle over an issue. You feel the need to defend your beliefs, values and opinions.

Analysis:

I think the house in my dream symbolizes how I feel unstable and unsure of myself at this point in my life. I tend not to listen to my emotions, and usually let my head get the best of me; this really kills spontaneity. I know in order to get to know myself better, I have to take it one step at a time and proceed with caution. I guess there are some major changes occurring in how I see myself in the world. The young man in my dream is ideal for me, since he has good qualities that I don’t have; he has roots and he is a very docile and quiet person. I feel very secure around him. What I also admire in him, is that he is able to go off to war; this shows that even though he is a quiet person he is not a pushover. I think I have to stick more to my opinions and choices and not let others’ opinions sway me in the opposite direction. He is willing to battle to defend his opinions and has a high-level of self-discipline; these are aspects I need to absorb more into myself. Moreover, the flower cupcake shows that I need to take this spiritual process one bit at a time. It is a very rewarding process and will help me become a compassionate person – more beautiful. I think on my quest for spiritual/emotional growth, I need to be patient, disciplined, and steadfast.

