Dream 12 – September 2, 2013 (Dream 11 Pending)

by kuriouskaren

dream-1

Fear, Shame, & Betrayal                                                                                                                                                                                                                  In the [beginning] of my dream, I’m on a playground with my cousins and sister. We all seem to be having fun. For some reason, one of my older male cousins start chasing me around the playground until I am out of breath. I tell him to stop and he doesn’t; scared, I run into an underground cellar in the playground. The cellar turns out to be a huge cement maze. In the [middle] of my dream, my cousin still chases me and I keep yelling at him to stop and that he is really scaring me. I look back and see him throwing a wooden spear at me; I duck and he misses. I pick up the spear and decide to turn the tables on him – now he’s my prey and I’m the predator. Pissed, I start chasing him around the maze. I chase him down a corridor and the maze suddenly turns into Home Depot. In one of the lanes, I see my uncle buying floor tiles. My uncle innocently asks me “What have you kids been up to?” and my cousin decides to hide behind my uncle. Being lost for words, I say nothing. At the [end] of my dream, the entire Home Depot then turns into another maze – of blue damask curtains with a fleur de lis pattern and beautiful marble flooring. My uncle tells me that this is what his design plan was and he was just finishing shopping at Home Depot for it. The entire maze then fills up with people holding champagne glasses, and they are celebrating the opening of my uncle’s exhibit. I see my older cousin walking around, and I get pissed at him for being so cool and innocent with me even though he scared me to bits. I knock the champagne glass out of his hand and the glass crashes to the floor. Everyone stares at me and I wake up.

Symbolism (from dreammoods.com):

Concrete: To see concrete in your dream represents your solid and clear understanding of some situation. The dream may also mean that you are too unyielding and inflexible.

Playground: To dream that you are on a playground indicates your desires to escape from your daily responsibilities. Perhaps you need to be more carefree. You need to acknowledge your talents.

Cousin: … In particular, if you dream that your cousin is ignoring you, then it indicates that you are not acknowledging some aspect of yourself that is represented by your cousin.

Labyrinth: To see or dream that you are in a labyrinth indicates your desires to get to the center of some issue or problem. Alternatively, it suggests that you are feeling trapped in some situation. You feel lost and that there is no way out.

Running: To dream that you are running away from someone indicates an issue that you are trying to avoid. You are not taking or accepting responsibility for your actions. In particular, if you are running from an attacker or any danger, then it suggests that you are not facing and confronting your fears.

Spear: To dream that you are throwing spear indicates that you are thrusting forth your will and your power into a situation. It refers to your strength and commitment.

Construction: To see construction in your dream signifies a new surge of energy, growth, ambition and renewed confidence. It may also represent the rebuilding of your own life.

Uncle: To see your uncle in your dream represents some aspect of your family heritage and trait. It also symbolizes new ideas and emerging awareness. Consider the idiom “say uncle” to mean surrender or admit defeat.

Curtain: To see or dream that you are shutting the curtains signify secrecy and a repression of thoughts. You are concealing some personal matter or some aspect of yourself.

Champagne: … Alternatively, it represents extravagance and overindulgence. Or it indicates a celebration or a personal achievement that you are proud of.or a personal achievement that you are proud of.

Analysis:

I know I wan’t to escape the lifestyle I have now; I have a solid understanding of this and the concrete denotes my character. I am unyielding and unapologetic and my family members have told me that I am very stubborn and don’t really follow other people’s opinions. My cousin, who turned aggressive in my dream, represents my primal side. I know I am a very competitive person and I often feel the need to dumb myself down to seem less aggressive or intimidating to most people. My closest friends know me very well and love me for it, but I do hear from strangers who I start to get to know that I am “dark and heavy” and “why don’t you ever shut off?”. I’m not confronting my fear of seeming intimidating to others, and I can see that it is really getting in the way of me living my life the way I want to. I don’t spend hours watching TV and I don’t like to get really drunk on Saturdays or spend my weekends lounging around making small talk with strangers- when I tell most people this I can see they get put off and they think I believe I’m better than them. I know I’m not, but it’s just not the way I like to spend my time. I really want to have an interesting and full life and I am chasing that right now – I’m trying to find my way. Home Depot represents the rebuilding of my own life, and this is shown as soon as I become the predator and have control of the spear. I have to be more openly assertive with myself. My uncle symbolizes this emerging awareness, since as soon as I see him I stop and come to the full realization of what I’ve become. As soon as I enter the curtain filled maze, I go hunting for my cousin in secret. This action shows that I am fully admitting to myself who I am and the certain characteristics I have. When I knock the champagne out of my cousin’s hand, I know I am shunning an extravagant, overindulgent lifestyle. I don’t ever want to become spoiled or pampered if I ever become financially successful – I know I want to always  have challenges in my life that I can overcome since I enjoy them so much.

