Dream 21 – November 23, 2013 (Other dreams pending…)

by kuriouskaren

dream-1

Tension, Comfort, & Rebellion

In the [beginning] of my dream, I’m in a large empty mansion. All of my cousins are there and my sister too. The mansion is very minimalist and space is the dominant feature. The owner of the mansion, I find out, is a millionaire – he’s very overweight but I can tell he is attractive. He has a very calm, rational, demeanour, but a menacing smile. I start to fall in love with this man, since he feels secure to be around. A cushion. My cousins tell me that he’s dangerous and a cannibal. In the basement, there is a room lined with bathtubs and showers; his victims are young females, and this is where he chops up their bodies and devours them later. The beginning of my dream is in blue and white shades – very cool. In the [middle] of my dream, he throws a biker party and invites a lot of his friends. They all drive Harley Davidsons around the back yard of the mansion and light bonfires. They wreck havoc on the landscape and drink and throw beer bottles wherever they want. Fun. He tells me that they are longtime friends of his, before he was successful, and so he throws these large get-togethers once in a blue moon. At the [end] of my dream, I snuggle up with him on his large sofa – the lighting turns dark green/brown. In these intimate moments we have with each other, I tell him that people are afraid of him and think he is cannibal. He laughs – which immediately makes me react and laugh too and relieves the tension in the air.

Symbolism (from dreammoods.com):

Palace: Symbolizes wealth and prominence; ready to realize your full potential; success is within reach.

Family: To see your own family in your dream… could also symbolize bitterness, jealousy, or rivalry, depending on your relationship with your family. Consider also the significance of a particular family member or the relationship you have with them.                                                                  

Lover: To see a lover in your dream shows acceptance, self-worth, and acknowledgement of your true inner value. You are integrating aspects of the masculine and the feminine. As a result, you are feeling complete and whole. Alternatively, your dream lover may also be someone who is your ideal. The dream could be compensatory for an unsatisfactory or unfulfilling relationship in your real life.

Obese: To dream that… are obese denotes overindulgence. [They] feel helplessness in expressing [their] power and authority. By dreaming that … are obese, .. are trying to insulate … from…surroundings and protect [themselves] from involvement in the situation.                  

CannibalismTo see cannibalism in your dream symbolizes a destructive and forbidden desire or obsession. In a literal sense, cannibals consume people’s lives, along with their energy.                                                                                                                  

Motorcycle To see or ride a motorcycle in your dream symbolizes your desire for freedom and need for adventure. You may be trying to escape from some situation or some other responsibility in your waking life. Alternatively, a motorcycle is symbolic of raw sexuality. 

Analysis: 

I know exactly what this dream is about. First of all, I’m dreaming about my cousins and sisters, because we are all around the same age to get married, start having families, etc. So we are on the cusp of fully maturing  into adulthood. Sometimes I feel like they criticize and judge me, since they are comparing my private life and choices based on their own personal models of romantic love – which is not fair. I’m the youngest, and feel like they can be very condescending to me and give me too much “advice” on how to live my own life.

The obese man in my dream is actually someone I know in real life (but in reality he is not obese) – we’ve kept in contact for a few years and we’ve exchanged emails about our most intimate selves – we stopped contact in December. He’s very intelligent, sensitive, and also hard-working. Hence he is depicted as extremely wealthy in my dream, as he is a very well rounded and has much to offer.

We both share fantasies of a D/s relationship, and I feel like he is manifested as obese, because he seems helpless to openly express himself as powerful and authoritative. Sometimes I find that there is a stigma in our society against assertive men and that “polite” men have to behave in a very submissive and overly cautious way. He is symbolically obese in my dream, because in real life he has to insulate himself and hide away his D/s fantasies – lest he get shunned by society.

Also, my cousins think he is a cannibal in my dream, since in reality they judge D/s relationships as destructive and dangerous. Dominant, heterosexual males are especially viewed by them as vile. That’s why in my dreams the obese man’s “victims” are always female; females are traditionally depicted as harmless, unintimidating, and innocent – taking advantage of them in any way is seen as “evil” (despite the fact that D/s is consensual and has mutually agreed upon boundaries).

His motorcycle posse also stays outside of the house and never enters. This is because in my dream he asks them to stay outside in the back yard, since he wants to maintain a pristine public image (in contrast, his front yard is decorated with fountains and rose bushes). In my dream, he has problems dealing with his financial situation, as the effect it has on other people makes him uncomfortable; in reality this is because he has trouble openly admitting to his D/s interests, which is just synonymous to growing up and developing a public persona. So in my dream, he  he throws these parties as an exaltation to his wilder side.

I have always felt an affinity to people who are more free-spirited. I fall in love with this man in my dream out of pity as well as admiration, and near the end I feel like accepting him fully will remove the stigma attached to the negative connotations of being a heterosexual, assertive male interested in D/s.

