Dream 22 – January 12, 2014

by kuriouskaren

DREAM-B

Fear, Anxiety, & Excitement

In the [beginning] of my dream, I’m living in a jungle hut with my mother and sister in a small town. It feels like Thailand. We all have darker skin – brown in colour. Invaders then start raiding our small town – soldiers in khaki suits burn down our huts and try and take as many women as hostage as possible. My family and I run away to a nearby buddhist temple. We escape into a tunnel below the temple with some other villagers. The tunnel is very long and we walk for what seems like hours.

In the [middle] of my dream, we reach the end of the tunnel – we realize the tunnel is part of a large dam and opens up to a large body of water a few hundred feet high. We’re all extremely disappointed and decide to sleep on our next step of action. I get up in the middle of the night, being restless, and tie the end of a rope I found to a nearby stone statue within the tunnel.  I start to scale the down the wall of the dam. I reach the bottom and see a dim light on the opposite adjacent wall. I notice an extremely large opening is carved into the wall, and someone has made the opening into their own home. The light is coming from a lamp next to a bed.

At the [end] of my dream, I drop off the rope and decide to swim across to the room carved into the wall. The water is extremely cold and black and everything is pitch dark. I get to the edge of the room and kind of throw myself into it from the water. I step into a bedroom, dripping wet from the water and see a man in the middle of the room reading a book. He looks up at me, unfazed, and asks me what I want. I look around and see that a boat is tied to the edge of the room, which actually floats in the water below. I’m surprised I missed it coming in. I tell him I need his boat to help me and that I’m a refugee. I need him to help me, my sister, and my mom get away from the soldiers who burned down our village. He tells me he doesn’t help anybody for free – I’m not surprised since he’s a man who lives by himself in a really remote location (a recluse). We make a deal and I pay him in gold coins – we agree that the trip is just for me, my mom, and sister – which has to be kept a secret from the other refugees – or else there will be a mass panic and my own family can’t get away safely. That night, I scale back up the dam, whisper the good news to my mom and sister and we all take turns scaling the wall down quietly in the night. We all end up getting into the boat, and the man rows us away off into the ocean.

Symbolism (from dreammoods.com):

JungleTo dream that you are in a jungle signifies aspects of yourself and your personality that may be inhibited. You may be experiencing some chaos and unpredictable circumstances in your waking life.

SkinTo dream that your skin is different color suggests that you are not being true to yourself. Look up the specific color for additional meaning. If your skin is darker than your true skin, then it may mean that you are trying to hide or blend into the background.  

InvasionTo dream of an invasion represents your need to be more assertive. Stand up for yourself and let your voice be known. Don’t let others tell you what to do.

Temple: To see a temple in your dream represents inspiration, spiritual thinking, meditation and growth. It is also symbolic of your physical body and the attention you give it.               

Tunnel: To dream that you are going through a tunnel suggests that you are exploring aspects of your subconscious. You are opening yourself to a brand new awareness.        

Dam: To see a dam in your dream signifies repressed emotions or feelings that needs to be released.                    

Escape: To dream that you escape from injury, from an animal, or from any situation signifies your good health and prosperity. You will experience a favorable turn of events.   

Rowboat: To dream that you are in a rowboat symbolizes hard work and perseverance. You are coping with your problems and emotions in your own way and at your own pace. Consider the condition of the water.                     

Analysis: 

I think being the youngest member of my family, my opinions weren’t taken seriously or I wasn’t seen as reliable. But as I have gotten older and have proven to give back more support to my family, I feel like my mother and sister can trust me more. I think I have grown emotionally – but in a very private way. I don’t like to express what I’m feeling to my family members, but would rather show my support through my actions. Initially, I did feel repressed, but now I have an outlet for all the varieties and intensities of my emotions (which I have found for myself in the performing arts). I think in life you do have to make hard choices and leave others behind – survival of the fittest of the sorts and I know my family is more important to me. I find the rowboat symbolizes the effort I have put into building a stronger family unit. The water in my dream is extremely calm – which reflects my approach to helping my family bond more with each other – I have a lot more patience now.

